Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Adult Services & Programs

Upcoming Author and Speaker Programs

Each month the Gwinnett County Public Library brings bestselling and award-winning authors from a variety of genres to the library, offering readers exclusive opportunities to meet and engage with their favorite writers. All author events listed below are live & virtual.

Online Program
2_1 - Interpreting Slavery

Interpreting Slavery at Museums and Historic Sites

Join author and professor Jodi Skipper as she discusses her book, Behind the Big House: Reconciling Slavery, Race, and Heritage in the U.S. South.

In-Person Program
2_9 - Authors & Dessert in Duluth

Authors & Dessert in Duluth with author & historian Rita Roberts

Letters of Love and Family During the Civil War. Rita Roberts discusses her book, I Can’t Wait to Call You My Wife, which honors the voices of African Americans of the Civil War era.

In-Person Program
Feb 2023 AS Programs - SM post

Overcome Rejection: Unleash Your Greatness

Pastor Dwight Buckner, Jr. discusses his book, Overlooked, which teaches you how to overcome the feelings of rejection and unleash the greatness that’s locked up inside of you.

Adult Services & Programs

Join us for all our Adult Services & Programs!

In-Person Program
1_31 - LinkedIn for Job Search

SkillsLinkedIn for Job Search – New Year – New Job – New Career

Are you in the market for changing your job or career? Get the latest job search tips from Gregg Burkhalter “The LinkedIn Guy”.

In-Person Program
Feb 2023 AS Programs - SM post

Trace Your Roots – African American Genealogy

Start your African American genealogy research and learn how to navigate challenges like incomplete or non-existent records.

In-Person Program
2_11 - CreativeSoul Photography

Empowerment Through the Lens – Using Storytelling to Create Powerful Imagery

Celebrate Black History Month with the local and nationally-recognized artist duo CreativeSoul Photography.

Online Program
Feb 2023 AS Programs - SM post (1)

Gwinnett’s African American Historic Preservation – A Community Conversation

Learn about the Gwinnett Historical Restoration and Preservation Board’s efforts around African American historic preservation in Gwinnett County.

In-Person Program
Feb 2023 AS Programs - SM post

Build Your Own Rain Barrel Workshop

Learn how to assemble and position a rain barrel to collect and store rainwater for use in your landscape.

In-Person Program
Feb - Reading is FUNdamental

Reading is FUNdamental – Building Speech, Language, and Emergent Literacy Skills

Would you like to learn how to build your child’s speech, language, and emergent literacy skills while reading together? If so, this series is for you!

Online Program
Feb - ATLReads

ATL Reads Virtual Book Club

This club meets monthly on the third Tuesday at 7:00 p.m. For the month of February, we will discuss The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead.

Online Program
Feb 2023 AS Programs - SM post (1)

Look Ya – Understanding the Cultural Roots of the Gullah Geechee

Learn about the Gullah Geechee people and the deep roots of the culture as Dr. Jessica Berry discusses her book, The Little Gullah Geechee Book: A Guide for the Come Ya.

In-Person Program
Feb 2023 AS Programs - SM post (2)

Citizenship Clinic

Invest in your future by applying for United States Citizenship. Get free assistance in completing your naturalization application.

In-Person Program
Feb 2023 AS Programs - SM post

Trace Your Roots – African American Genealogy

Start your African American genealogy research and learn how to navigate challenges like incomplete or non-existent records.

Online Program
March - ATLReads

ATL Reads Virtual Book Club

This club meets monthly on the third Tuesday at 7:00 p.m. For the month of March, we will discuss The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah.

In-Person Program
March - Reading is FUNdamental

Reading is FUNdamental – Building Speech, Language, and Emergent Literacy Skills

Would you like to learn how to build your child’s speech, language, and emergent literacy skills while reading together? If so, this series is for you!

From The Blog

Black History Month

Did you know February is Black History Month? We'd love you to celebrate with Gwinnett [...]

Celebrate Romance Novel Month

Romance addicts, rejoice! August is National Romance Novel Month! The Gwinnett County Public Library is [...]

AAPI Heritage Month 2022

May is Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month, an annual celebration of the contributions [...]

Read-Alikes: Robert Jordan’s “The Wheel of Time”

Robert Jordan’s series of high fantasy novels The Wheel of Time has officially become an [...]