Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Adult Services & Programs

Upcoming Author and Speaker Programs

Each month the Gwinnett County Public Library brings bestselling and award-winning authors from a variety of genres to the library, offering readers exclusive opportunities to meet and engage with their favorite writers. All author events listed below are live & virtual.

In-Person Program
Oct 2022 Meet the Author - SM post

Authors & Dessert in Duluth with Marisela Martinez-Cola 

Author Marisela Martinez-Cola discusses her book The Bricks before Brown: The Chinese American, Native American, and Mexican Americans’ Struggle for Educational Equality.

In-Person Program
Nov 2022 AS Programs - SM post

Paper Doll Lina: A Powerful Story of Survival

Author Robyn Lucas and Partnership Against Domestic Violence discuss “Paper Doll Lina” and domestic violence.

Online Program
Nov 2022 AS Programs - SM post (1)

Native American Heritage Month: A History of Systematic Land Theft

Learn about the history as to why over 95 percent of U.S. farmland is owned by White Americans. Presented by Agricultural Lawyer, Jillian Hishaw.

In-Person Program
Nov 2022 AS Programs - SM post (2)

Meet the Author: Rona Simmons
Celebrating Veterans & Military Family Month

Join GCPL as author Rona Simmons discusses her newest book based on a true story, A Gathering of Men.

In-Person Program
Nov 2022 AS Programs - SM post (3)

Authors & Dessert in Duluth with Chef and Author Johnathon Scott Barrett

Chef Johnathon Scott Barrett will share highlights and stories from his newest book, Cook & Celebrate: A Collection of Southern Holiday and Party Culinary Traditions.

Adult Services & Programs

Join us for all our Adult Services & Programs!

In-Person Program
Oct 2022 AS Programs - SM post

Big Read Kickoff: A Community Celebration

Join Gwinnett County Public Library and the Kuumba Storytellers of Georgia for a kickoff of the community Big Read centered around Yaa Gyasi’s award-winning novel, Homegoing.

In-Person Program
10_8 - Small Business

Small Biz HR Series
HR Essentials for Small Businesses and Developing Employees

Learn about the HR essentials every employer should know for their small business.

In-Person Program
Exploring & Planning (2)

Exploring & Planning Family Travel

Come dream about amazing family vacations that can become your reality!

In-Person Program
Oct 2022 AS Programs - SM post

History of a Quinceañera: Art Exhibit & Talk

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month by learning the history of Quinceañeras and how the tradition has evolved. iCelebre el Mes de la Herencia Hispana aprendiendo la historia de las Quinceañeras y cómo ha evolucionado la tradición!

Online Program
ATLReads Live Book Club - animated SM post

ATL Reads Virtual Book Club

This club meets monthly on the third Tuesday at 7:00 p.m. For the month of October, we will be discussing The Starless Crown by James Rollins.

Online Program
Oct 2022 AS Programs - SM post (1)

Social Equity Alliance: BIPOC Mental Health

Join GCPL in an open discussion of social issues that affect our community. For the month of October, we will discuss BIPOC Mental Health.

In-Person Program
Oct 2022 AS Programs - SM post (2)

Foster Parent Information Session

Join the Georgia Division of Family and Children Services to learn how to become a Foster Parent.

In-Person Program
Nov 2022 AS Programs - SM post

Understanding Medicare – Speak with a Specialist

Get unbiased guidance from a Certified Medicare Counselor about costs and coverage, comparing options, and enrolling in plans.

In-Person Program
Oct 2022 AS Programs - SM post

Small Biz HR Series
HR Essentials for Small Businesses and Developing Employees

Learn about the HR essentials every employer should know for their small business.

In-Person Program
Nov 2022 AS Programs - SM post

Better Cooking for a Better Environment

Join GCPL in partnership with the Gwinnett County Department of Water Resources to learn how to properly dispose of FOG.

Online Program
ATLReads Live Book Club - animated SM post

ATL Reads Virtual Book Club

This club meets monthly on the third Tuesday at 7:00 p.m. For the month of November, we will discuss Once Upon a Wardrobe by Patti Callahan.

Online Program
Nov 2022 AS Programs - SM post (2)

Social Security 101 Workshop – Speak with a Specialist

Join GCPL and a Social Security Administration Specialist to learn about retirement benefits, Medicare, and services provided by the Social Security Administration.

Online Program
Nov 2022 AS Programs - SM post

Social Security 101 Workshop – Speak with a Specialist

Join GCPL and a Social Security Administration Specialist to learn about retirement benefits, Medicare, and services provided by the Social Security Administration.

In-Person Program
Oct 2022 AS Programs - SM post

Small Biz HR Series
HR Essentials for Small Businesses and Developing Employees

Learn about the HR essentials every employer should know for their small business.

Online Program
ATLReads Live Book Club - animated SM post

ATL Reads Virtual Book Club

This club meets monthly on the third Tuesday at 7:00 p.m. For the month of December, we will discuss Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi.

From The Blog

Celebrate Romance Novel Month

Romance addicts, rejoice! August is National Romance Novel Month! The Gwinnett County Public Library is [...]

AAPI Heritage Month 2022

May is Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month, an annual celebration of the contributions [...]

Read-Alikes: Robert Jordan’s “The Wheel of Time”

Robert Jordan’s series of high fantasy novels The Wheel of Time has officially become an [...]

GCPL’s Most Popular Books of the Year

2021 was another year of many changes for everyone, and just as the times change [...]