Describe your educational background? 

Bachelor of Science degree in Art from Emporia State University in Kansas. Master of Science degree in Art Therapy from Emporia State University. Master of Library and Information Science from the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee.

 

What inspired you to pursue a career in the library?

My husband’s job brought us to Georgia in 2001. Once we moved in I started looking for work and ended up taking a part time job with the library as an “information Specialist”. I envisioned it as just a temporary position until work could be found as an art therapist; however, art therapy jobs are limited and hard to come by so I knew it might take awhile. After a couple of years, I realized that I really loved working for the library and actually turned down an offer for an art therapy position with another organization. What influenced me to stay with the library was the fabulous people I worked with; the opportunity to help customers find the materials and information they needed; the focus on continual learning; and of course, daily access to all of those wonderful books. Once I decided to stay it seemed logical to pursue a degree in library science.

 

How would you describe your position to others? 

My current position as branch manager is multifaceted. It allows me contact with the public, both in the branch and out in the community. Developing a strong presence within our community is a primary focus and I accomplish that by attending local business association meetings, ensuring that we are supporting the educational goals of our local schools, and by developing partnerships with other local organizations. In the branch, I’m responsible for maintaining a safe and pleasant atmosphere for all who visit, for maintaining and promoting our collection, and for ensuring staff are well trained and have what they need to provide the best possible customer service.

 

What do you enjoy most about your job at GCPL? 

What I enjoy most is the variety of the things I get to do. No day is exactly like any other. There’s always something new to learn or someone new to meet.

 

What is your all-time favorite book? 

My all-time favorite book is the Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

 

What are 3 things you enjoy doing outside of work? 

Anyone who knows me would say the 3 things I enjoy most are weaving, weaving and weaving. I’m just a bit obsessed with that hobby and I own a multitude of looms of various types. However, I also enjoy gardening and using my iPad to keep in touch with family and friends across the country.

 

What is something exciting about you that most people don’t know? 

I’ve lived outside of the U.S. twice.