January 1, 1919

J.D. Salinger

Catcher in the Rye, Nine Stories


January 2, 1920

Isaac Asimov

Fantastic Voyage, Foundation Series


January 3, 1892

J.R.R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy, The Hobbit


January 6, 1931

E.L. Doctorow

Ragtime, World’s Fair


January 7, 1903

Zora Neale Hurston

They’re Eyes Were Watching God, Jonah’s Gourd Vine


January 8, 1944

Terry Brooks

The Shannara Series


January 12, 1876

Jack London

Call of the Wild, White Fang


January 12, 1952

Walter Mosley

Devil in a Blue Dress, Easy Rawlins’ Mystery Series


January 12, 1949

Haruki Murakami

Kafka on the Shore, 1Q84


January 15, 1933

Ernest Gaines

A Gathering of Old Men, The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman


January 18, 1882

A.A. Milne

Winnie the Pooh Series


January 19, 1809

Edgar Allan Poe

The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, Short Stories


January 19, 1921

Patricia Highsmith

The Talented Mr. Ripley, The Price of Salt (aka Carol)


January 19, 1946

Julian Barnes

Atonement, Saturday, The Sense of An Ending


January 24, 1862

Edith Wharton

The Age of Innocence, Ethan Frome


January 25, 1874

Somerset Maugham

Of Human Bondage


January 25, 1882

Virginia Woolf

Mrs. Dalloway, To the Lighthouse


January 29, 1860

Anton Chekhov

Three Sisters, The Seagull, Short Stories


January 27, 1832

Lewis Carroll

Alice in Wonderland, Through the Looking Glass


January 31, 1872

Zane Grey

The Westerners, Riders of the Purple Sage